Iherb shopping – review of some green beauties – part 1

Hello to all of you! I haven’t been around for a while but I’m back again with a nice new review of some goodies that I ordered around a month ago at Iherb. Usually, when shopping at Iherb, I do it more out of curiosity about (for me) new products. I also have fun trying all these US brands that have that typical ” american drugstore” inspired package design. I mean brands like Real Techniques, Organic wear or EcoTools. I perfectly know that these are all very affordable products from the green world and so I’m always curious how they work. Ok, they aren’t meant for a high-end work, which doesn’t mean they don’t do the work well. I’m very surprised each time about the quality you get for that price, I mean it especially for brushes. For me the most mind-blowing are EcoTools, they are so cheap and they never stop to surprise me. Let’s check together what are my thoughts about these brands/products; this is my last purchase from Iherb:

Last Iherb shopping

Last Iherb shopping

 

Organic wear trio; new CC cream, CC mascara and bronzer

I’m gonna start with makeup products, because I was the most curious especially about this new mascara. I have a fetish about Organic wear mascaras and I want to try them all, till now I have tried 3 of them and liked all. The only thing I’m not so happy with, is that they all dry quite quickly. I won’t spend many praises about beneficial ingredients and marketing promises from the package which you can see here on the picture.

CC mascara package

CC mascara package

 

I’m going straight to share my thoughts: I like very much this Organic wear CC mascara (CC means curl & care), because if you are able with the wand you can get beautiful curled and voluminous lashes, very dramatic for a green mascara! No clumping, just volume and curling. Love it, except that it dries quite quickly, in less than a month I noticed that the wand was quite dry. Here is the curved and clean brush very close, that separates the lashes fabulously. With those curved mascaras I advise you to really curl the lashes from the roots and massage them where can help you very much the shape of the wand. Perhaps I should do a video to explain it best 🙂 It’s really good to understand the point of these type of wands. In comparison to the similar mascara from SObio that I reviewed time ago, I prefer this one because it separates more the lashes and gives that vavavoom effect.

CC Mascara Organic wear

CC Mascara Organic wear

Organic wear CC (colour & correction) cream: I haven’t tried this product because of its marketing promises with ultimate trends in this field, but just because it was part of the collection with the mascara. There are 2 shades of this product and I have tried the light one, which is absolutely too dark and orange for light skin. I’d perhaps understand the fact they wanted to create a cream with a touch of orange to brighten the skin (this is the purpose of colour correcting) but here is absolutely too much orange for light skin. Although the texture is nice, glides smoothly on the skin and blends well at the end, (especially if applied with a sponge or duo-fiber brush),  the end result for a CC cream is too heavy and shiny. So this product is just ok for medium and very dry skin, but since I have dry skin, it was too much so I’d need a layer of powder on top. It does cover some imperfections but the coverage is medium. Since it’s meant to wear alone or under additional makeup it’s definitely too heavy. For combination or oily skin is an absolute no. In general, not a happy product overall, but with some improvements could work great. Here is the swatch on my hand:

Organic wear CC cream (light) and Organic wear bronzer (light) swatches

Organic wear CC cream (light) and Organic wear bronzer (light) swatches

 

Organic wear bronzer (light) On the picture above there is a swatch on daylight which is not so well seen. Well, the colour is a mix of slightly shimmery beige and a medium sand with golden warm tonality, which in general does a nice not overdone sun kissed effect on fair skin. It’s great because this one is not orange! As you can see from the picture the bronzer is lighter than the CC cream, which is not ok, since both products are for light skin. Note that the picture was taken on daylight and so the bronzer looks more shimmery and gold than it is. I’m not a fan of shimmery bronzers, so this one is ok for my taste because it has just a hint of glow. It is Ecocert approved as well and the list with ingredients is very good (no talc, no parabens, no synthetic dyes,…). Here is another picture of the bronzer that comes in a typical lovely package from Organic wear; included a mirror and brush on the other side of the package.

Organic wear bronzer (light)

Organic wear bronzer (light)

 

Alaffia Neem & Shea Butter Scalp Recovery Conditioner with Rosemary & Tea Tree

Alaffia conditioner

Alaffia conditioner

My new hair conditioner, a very green, new and fabulous product that I’ve tried recently. It’s especially good for dry scalp. It smells divine, herbal scent of tea tree. It has a light mousse-like texture and it detangles the hair excellently! Love it! Much better than high end green brands. Before ordering this one I got and tried the travel size of Rahua conditioner and really was not so so good in comparison with this, so the decision was quickly made and very good at the end. I like the quite strong scent of this one, that perhaps someone won’t like. The texture is almost like a light mousse that detangles hair quickly and gently, plus it has beneficial properties for the scalp. I will also try their shampoo from the same line.

That’s all for this time. I’ll come with the second part of the review very soon and of course with more green news 😉

 

All of you who want to shop on Iherb.com put the code DAS325 and get a discount of 5-10$ on your first order.

Comments
11 Responses to “Iherb shopping – review of some green beauties – part 1”
  1. Liv says:

    Thank you so much for the Review! I ve immediately put the conditioner on my wishlist 🙂 I have also recently ordered a Mascara (the Jumbo Lash) by Organic Wear. Though i haven’t opened it yet since I want to empty some other firs. Can’t wait for part 2 of your review. Best wishes, Liv

  2. Nina G says:

    Great review 🙂 love it !

  3. Such a pity that CC cream is so orange and dark! The bronzer looks beautiful, though 🙂

  4. Hi Dasha!
    Great to get some reviews from products that you can get at iHerb. I like to shop from them. 🙂
    I was curious about the CC cream but now I do not need to waist money on that. With my fair and dry skin it will almost defintitly not suit me. The mascara sounds nice though. I also want the Wawawom effect! 🙂
    I recived a bronzer/blusher from Physiancs Formula a couple of days ago. I also ordered from IHerb and I really like it.
    The Alaffia conditioner sounds lovely. However I wouldn´t buy the shampoo. I tried the shampoo and although it is very nice and with a lot of “slip” to detangels it has a very high ph of 9. I email Alaffia and asked about the ph. They of course do not think that their shampo is bad for the hair but if you read about it or ask some hairdressers the will probably say that it is risk to damage the structure of the hair with that high ph. Maybe it does´t mather as much if you have shorter hair and it grows out faster, but I have so long hair that I do not risk to get breakage or damage the hair. Alffias conditioner has a ph of 5-6 and that works just fine. 🙂
    Hope everything is great with you. Here we still have about -2 in the nights but we have had some lovely warm days! 🙂

    • green makeup says:

      So nice to hear your opinions and experiences with all these products from Iherb. Thanks for sharing! Regarding cc cream it’s absolutely way too dark for your fair skin (it’s even for mine) 🙂
      OMG, -2, brrrr 🙂 hehe, but for you it’s normal I guess 🙂
      Have a great time!

  5. I love iherb! My favorite place to shop online for food and beauty. Partly because they have $25+ free SH. I’m going to check out that brand of haircare – I’m on the lookout for a new inexpensive shampoo. Very happy to hear that you love EcoTools! I always assume you know the best brushes, and I have a set of mini EcoTools on my wishlist (because of a post on Hearty Habits). Definitely have to buy them now. 🙂

    • green makeup says:

      Hi Kath! I’m glad you find useful the review! I haven’t tried EcoTools mini set yet, but I think it should be fine. I’ll post the review of EcoTools soon. Best, Dasha

  6. I have this CC cream too and i actually like it! I have oily skin but i don´t feel that it is heavy and coverage is pretty good. I use finishing powder on top and it´s fine 🙂

    • green makeup says:

      Hi, thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! I’m glad this product works for you. I don’t say that this is a bad product, it can work for some women. What I emphasised is that is too heavy for a cc cream, which purpose is to wear also under foundation. Regarding oily skin, I’m very surprised how many times women talk about having oily skin, which in fact isn’t really so hard and I don’t know where is this misconception from. Perhaps the industry… I don’t know for your case though, but since I have dry skin for me would be quite ok (except the colour and texture), but for a really oily skin is too much hydrating (which is also its purpose if you see the ingredients and description). I have also worked with it on true oily skin to try it and it’s an absolute no. So taking all this in consideration and the fact you like it, then your skin is not so oily as you might think 🙂 Best, Dasha

      • I would say i do have oily skin – shiny face, large pores prone to clogging, pimples…although i try to be gentle – no products with alcohol for me or overstripping products, but still, is not perfect 🙂
        I like to put this CC cream on clean skin, but it is true, that i can not imagine put anything else on top or underneath it (except the setting powder of course).

Leave a comment

  • NOTIFICATION

    I write my opinion about products that I like, use and that are free of toxic chemicals. I am not paid for my reviews. I purchase the products for personal use and write about what is good from my point of view. New contacts and collaborations are appreciated, but I cannot guarantee a good review if it doesn't fulfill my conditions: safe ingredients and quality.

  • COPYRIGHT

    All material (texts and pictures) on this blog are copyrighted by Green make-up, unless noted and can't be used without permission. Pictures from other sources are used only for commentary purposes. If you are the owner of any image and you would not want it to be displayed please let me know. I will remove it asap. I try my best to provide the credits for all images.