Freshly made: deodorant

In the previous article I have explained how the process of sweating works. In this article I want to explain the difference between deodorants and antiperspirants, harmful ingredients to avoid in them and how to make an amazing deodorant at home.

Antiperspirants: they prevent the formation of sweat (= interfere in the natural function processes of the body!)

Deodorants: they cover/mask the underarm odour through the addition of antimicrobial agents such as triclosan, farnesol, alcohols or ammonium compounds that try to disable and kill the bacteria(even the good ones!) on the skin.

Harmful substances to avoid in deodorants/antiperspirants
Unfortunately, most of the substances, which are acting against sweat or bacteria, is very controversial for our health. Some of the main important to avoid are:

Triclosan: endocrine disruptor, strong skin irritant, environmental toxicant, affects thyroid hormone, caused fetal death in animals

Aluminum salts and all aluminum compounds (aluminum chlorohydrate, ammonium aluminum sulfate, potassium aluminum sulfate, aluminum zirconium tetrachlorohydrex gly): can cause contact dermatitis, are related to many diseases (asthma, lung disorders, reproductive disorders, …). Studies against aluminum show also that it accumulates in the brain over time and may contribute to Alzheimer’s disease and breast cancers.

Phthalates: which may be hiding under the name “fragrance”. They are dangerous endocrine disrupters, which also affect the liver, kidneys and reproductive organs, they can cause allergies, itching, redness, breathing difficulties,…

Parabens (methyl, ethyl, propyl, benzyl and butyl), are all derived from toluene, a toxic petrochemical derivat. (related to contact allergies, skin sensatizations, found in breast tissue of women diagnosed with breast cancer)

Toluene: skin and lung toxicant, accumulates in fat tissue, soil contaminant, can cause strong skin, eye and respiratory tract irritation. Inhalation can cause nausea, headaches,…

Talc: even when it contains no asbestos, was proven fibrogenic (causes tissue injury and fibrosis), skin and lung irritation

Propylene glycol: can cause eye irritation and conjunctivitis, as well as upper respiratory tract irritation

(sources: Julie Gabriel: Green beauty guide, Dawn Mellowship: Toxic beauty)

How to stay fresh smelling naturally an entire day?

There are many healthy choices to choose instead of toxic chemicals who can cause many disorders. Start to look after deodorants with ingredients like vegetable glycerin, natural preservatives, herbs or herbal extracts, green tea, aloe vera juice, baking soda and natural essential oils. You can also make an amazing and easy deodorant at home. Here I share with you the recipe below. I am using this deodorant a few weeks and it works great! The deodorant is also tested by many other people who are very satisfied and now ex users of traditional antiperspirants/deodorants. The best thing is that it smells amazing and it lasts up to whole day. Here is the recipe:

For the production of natural antiperspirant you need:

– 1 / 4 cup of cornstarch

– 1 / 4 cup of baking soda

– 10-20 drops of essential oil of your choice (I like the freshness of lemongrass essential oil)*

– 2 tablespoons of coconut oil

Mix corn starch and baking soda in a bowl and then add to this mixture partially melted coconut oil and the essential oil. Stir well and put this mixture in a clean pot. Start to use it after 1-2 days. You need a small amount of deodorant, as the deodorant is highly effective even in small quantities.

* I’ve added the lemongrass essential oil, which is for my taste a great choice for hot summer days. When the fresh smell of lemongrass mixes with the nice sweet smell of coconut oil, the result is a fresh and lightly sweet tropical scent.

You should know that coconut oil has natural antimicrobial properties, as does baking soda, but without killing the microorganisms that are useful in our body. The nature has provided us everything we need to balance our body, mind and spirit 🙂 I’d be happy to hear from you that you have made this deodorant at home and your thoughts about it. Or maybe you already have any other natural recipes & experiences with natural deodorants to share with me?

Comments
3 Responses to “Freshly made: deodorant”
  1. Hi, I use a crystal deodorant from Drogerie Markt and I’ve tried other natural deodorants too, and they work. What I have trouble with is that the sweat gets into my clothes, it’s not bad as I’m a raw foodist, however, the clothes smell even after washing (I use Ecover detergent). Do you have any tips on what to do with clothes? Many of them are of sensitive fabric, so I can’t wash them at high temperatures. Many thanks!

    • green makeup says:

      What kind of fabrics do you use-synthetic? If yes, synthetic fabrics are very prone to unpleasant smell and the smell is hard to wash away. With cotton is different. I use for my clothes (but I almost don’t wear synthetic) the washing balls and natural detergent (with balls you need a small amount of detergent) and it works. But for the smell, I’d suggest you to try baking soda diluted in water. I know that baking soda is great for removing unpleasant smells. Sometimes I also mix it (a teaspoon) with detergent and it gives good results on white fabric at 90 degrees. Or I have also heard a lot about white distilled vinegar. That diluted in water is great for many types of problems on fabric. I’d try to soak the clothes in this mix and then wash them in the washing machine. Or even try to put a small amount of white distilled vinegar for an hour on the places where there is smell and then wash everything. First try on one piece, than you will see how it works. Please, let me know if you will try anything and how it works for you. Thanks, bye:)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a lot about this topic a few years ago; from different green non-toxic options on the market, the list with chemicals to avoid and also how to make your own deodorant at home. This summer I rediscovered some new deodorants […]



Leave a comment

  • NOTIFICATION

    I write my opinion about products that I like, use and that are free of toxic chemicals. I am not paid for my reviews. I purchase the products for personal use and write about what is good from my point of view. New contacts and collaborations are appreciated, but I cannot guarantee a good review if it doesn't fulfill my conditions: safe ingredients and quality.

  • COPYRIGHT

    All material (texts and pictures) on this blog are copyrighted by Green make-up, unless noted and can't be used without permission. Pictures from other sources are used only for commentary purposes. If you are the owner of any image and you would not want it to be displayed please let me know. I will remove it asap. I try my best to provide the credits for all images.