Washing and disinfecting hands

The topic about washing and disinfecting our hands has been in my mind for a long time. I find this topic especially actual in winter time, when all the chemical and pharmaceutical marketing wants to sell us “infections, viruses and other contaminating stuff”. Apart this I also searched for a long time for a hand sanitizer for my work. As a make-up artist I have to disinfect my hands and even my tools. I have finally found some green alternatives and this is the right time to share the whole concept with you. Moreover, I have even found an excellently written article about this topic from my blog friend Melissa Jaynes, who literally had the same thought as I did. Finally, I decided to reblog and include it in my post.

Winter, Germs, Washing Hands …

It’s that time of year where we are all cooped up inside sharing as many germs as possible. So many of us reach for the soaps that have anti-bacterial on them not knowing how harmful they can be. Here are some common myths and the truths behind them:

Thought: Soaps that say they are “anti-bacterial” on the label are the only kind that protect me from the bad germs. 
The Real Deal: Actually, all soaps are anti-bacterial and can keep you free from harmful germs. The combination of soap, water, and friction from rubbing your hands or body causes germs to dislodge from the skin and are rinsed away. Easy as that. 

Thought: If all soap is anti-bacterial, then why are there soaps that specifically say they are ANTI-BACTERIAL?
The Real Deal: Two words – marketing gimmick. By marketing certain soaps as ANTI-BACTERIAL, soap brands have created in the mind of the consumer a need to have two distinct kinds of soaps in your home. It’s just a simple way to get us to spend more…

Thought: But wait, I always see active ingredients listed on those so called  ANTI-BACTERIAL soaps and not on others?
The Real Deal: There are lots of bactericide ingredients that can be added to soap, the most common of which is Triclosan. Triclosan, is a chemical ingredient in many detergents, dish-washing liquids, soaps, deodorants, cosmetics, lotions, anti-microbial creams. But did you know that the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has registered it as a pesticide? And that Triclosan is classified as a chlorophenol, a class of chemicals which is suspected of causing cancer in humans? Health professionals are worried of the risks we run by exposing ourselves to Triclosan on a daily basis. Not just that, but our over use of Triclosan spiked soaps has already spurred some instances of drug resistant bacteria & viruses. Yikes!

Thought: What is a germaphobe Beauty to do?
Solution:  First step is to stop using soaps, washes, and sanitizers that use Triclosan. My experience being Tricolosan-free in soaps & sanitizing products has been a positive one. I am happy to say (knock on wood) that nobody in our home has been sick since we made that change over 2 years ago, not even a sniffle. If anything, we were catching more colds and “bugs” before! Second step, protect yourself. Go back to nature. Look for products that contain naturally derived & proven bacteria fighting ingredients such as tea tree, lavender, lemon, or rosemary. Not only are these alternatives safe for you but they are also good on the environment.

Read the full article on Melissa Jaynes blog Foods for your skin

Green make-up choice for washing and sanitizing hands

1.product: 100%pure hand washes

100%pure hand wash

This mousse-like hand wash is ideal for your hands because of many organic antioxidants, nutrients and hydrating ingredients. Based on organic aloe vera juice this hand-wash praise itself also with antibacterial herbs like: Rosemary, Goldenseal, Oregano, Thyme, Lavender, Spearmint, Peppermint, Basil and Witch Hazel. Use this skin friendly hand-wash simply every time when you want to wash your hands. You can choose from 4 different scents. After you can apply the hand cream from the same collection.

Ingredients: Organic Aloe Juice, Organic Rose Hydrosol, Sake, Saponified Coconut Oil, Extracts of Organic Green Tea, Rosemary, Goldenseal, Oregano, Thyme, Lavender, Coffee Cherry, Pomegranate, Calendula, Grapefruit Seed, Essential Oils of Key Lime, Spearmint, Peppermint, Basil and Witch Hazel.

2. product: Bentley organic anti-bacterial moisturizing hand sanitizer

Bentley organic hand sanitizer

I discovered this product right when I needed it the most: while traveling around where there is no water to wash your hands or while working to disinfect my hands before doing the make-up. This sanitizer is extremely gentle on the skin, yet very effective when it comes to disinfect your hands. It comes in a 50ml pump bottle and in form of a light mousse. The best thing is that it doesn’t leave any harsh scent or sticky film on your hands. And even best than this is that it doesn’t contain any harmful ingredients, alcohols and synthetic scents. It has the Soil association certificate.

Ingredients: Aqua, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice*, Glycerin, Lauryl Betaine, Lactic Acid, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Citrus Sinensis, Citrus reticulata, Ascorbic Acid, Citric Acid

top photo credit: Dreamstimefree

Comments
3 Responses to “Washing and disinfecting hands”
  1. Thes says:

    I agree with you about the harmful effects of using harsh chemical in handwashing. It’s the same for cleaning. Unfortunately, my man trusts the chemical based cleaning products. The bad bacterias became stronger, caused our basin and drainage system that aweful smell.
    My solution is add a few drops of eucalyptus essential oil to the water and pour into the basin and drainage…. After doing it 2-3 times, the smell gets away.

    • green makeup says:

      Thanks for sharing this great tip Thes! I agree that is the same problem with other cleaning products. Many years ago when I had issues with allergies it was very hard also because of strong and irritative chemicals in house cleaning products. When I switched to green products my health improved. All that chemicals are high toxic and they go into your blood system and you also inhale them in the lungs, which can cause severe problems after a long time.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 🙂 I use my mix of essential oils, a tea tree hydrolat or the Bentley organics hand sanitizer: https://greenmakeup.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/washing-and-disinfecting-hands/ It’s still quite hard to find an effective green brush sanitizer and cleaner on the market. I […]



Leave a comment

  • NOTIFICATION

    I write my opinion about products that I like, use and that are free of toxic chemicals. I am not paid for my reviews. I purchase the products for personal use and write about what is good from my point of view. New contacts and collaborations are appreciated, but I cannot guarantee a good review if it doesn't fulfill my conditions: safe ingredients and quality.

  • COPYRIGHT

    All material (texts and pictures) on this blog are copyrighted by Green make-up, unless noted and can't be used without permission. Pictures from other sources are used only for commentary purposes. If you are the owner of any image and you would not want it to be displayed please let me know. I will remove it asap. I try my best to provide the credits for all images.